| Re: Afircan Bands wanting to record in US- all scams? [message #311361 is a reply to message #310380 ] |
Fri, 01 February 2008 23:18   |
 |
tom eaton Messages: 2119 Registered: May 2004 Location: Newburyport, MA |
Platinum Member |
|
|
Hey Eric-
I get two or three of these a month. I never respond.
Frequently the e-mails appear to be sent to a group, and so I assume there is a list somewhere that circulates.
I got a very similar scam e-mail from "Rob James" ( robnahummer8@gmail.com ) regarding a listing I had put on Craig's List last week:
| Quote: | Thanks for your response,will you accept Money Order/check as a mode of payment? Because that is the only way i can pay you with.If you agree to it,i will require that you send me your full name,address and your phone number so that i can forward it to my Assistant to send the payment to you.I will be offering you $50 extra to hold the item for me for a week.To expediate this transaction because of the festive period and for both of us to avoid stress.I have conclude arrangement with a moving company,they would be responsible for the packing and picking up of the item.This will make me to be sending you extra fund because the moving company need their payment before embarking on any transaction of picking up item.
I have included their fee in the payment you will be recieving,the amount covers for all logistic needed to pick up the item from you. When you recieve the Money Order/Check, get it cashed and deduct the cost of your item and the $50 i offered you for holding it for me, then you send the balance to the moving company via a western union before pickup can be effected.
Let me know if this is ok by you,because i want this transaction to be as smooth as possible.Get back to me so that i will know the status of things,until i hear from you my regards to you and your family.
|
Always bad news. I particularly liked the moving company touch. The item was a Benchmark DAC-1.
-t
thomas eaton recording
acoustic music guy
http://www.thomaseaton.com
|
|
|
|
| Re: Afircan Bands wanting to record in US- all scams? [message #311423 is a reply to message #310380 ] |
Sat, 02 February 2008 09:26   |
Jim Williams Messages: 462 Registered: May 2005 Location: beautiful carlsbad, CA |
Active Member |
|
|
My nephew is in Ghana now recording local groups. He's doing his best to keep them there so he can make some money out of them.
Consider him a karma reverser.
Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Re: Afircan Bands wanting to record in US- all scams? [message #314206 is a reply to message #312306 ] |
Mon, 11 February 2008 01:32   |
ivangough2 Messages: 60 Registered: August 2004 |
Member |
|
|
I'm not sure if this has been posted, so apologies if it has, but if you have a spare few minutes for a laugh at the expense of internet scammers..
http://www.419eater.com
If you're going to criticise someone, first walk a mile in their shoes. That way when they get angry, you'll be a mile away, and you'll have their shoes.
|
|
|
|
|
| Re: African Bands wanting to record in US- all scams? [message #324460 is a reply to message #310380 ] |
Thu, 13 March 2008 17:40   |
|
I´m in Sweden and i get an email like that once a month or so. Gets checks as well, always way over the supposed budgets. They are pretty easy to spot as they never seem to have any questions about the studio or answers to questions on what they want to do. Why go to Europe when there´s great studios in Africa as well.
It´s sad really, i´m sure serious bands get in trouble because of all this.
There´s so much great music and history from that continent. /Toby
www.cascatoma.com
Smiles can be heard !
|
|
|
|
|
| Re: Afircan Bands wanting to record in US- all scams? [message #328269 is a reply to message #314206 ] |
Thu, 27 March 2008 13:47   |
|
| ivangough2 wrote on Sun, 10 February 2008 23:32 | I'm not sure if this has been posted, so apologies if it has, but if you have a spare few minutes for a laugh at the expense of internet scammers..
http://www.419eater.com
|
I highly recommend this site.
I have gotten many scam emails, and I actually wasted one guys time. since he was so insistent. Boy was he peeved when he found out I was wasting his time.
His final insults were very funny, colorful, and made it worth my time.
Cheers
You, Flock of Seagulls, know why we're here?
Nick Sevilla
www.nicksevilla.com
|
|
|
|
| Re: Afircan Bands wanting to record in US- all scams? [message #332568 is a reply to message #310380 ] |
Fri, 11 April 2008 06:41   |
|
OK, we got a new one today, so why not just let everyone in on it, and keep a running update!
-----Original Message-----
From: manfred kestern <man_kestern@xxxxx.com>
To: orphanos@xxxxxxxxx.com
Sent: Fri, 11 Apr 2008 3:42 am
Subject: RECORDING SESSION
Hello
I want to have a recording session booked in your studio from 11th to 18th August 2008, 8hrs per day.
We would like to make use of your studio/equipment for that period.
The details of the group are as follows:
Name of the band: EWE Band.
Band group country: Suriname
Number of the Band Group: 5 people.
Music Type: Christian Acappella
Number of days: 8 days from 11th of April to 18th August 2008.
Please do reply with the total cost of your services. Feel free to call if you have any questions to ask.
Manfred Kerstan
man_kestern@xxxxx.com
And my first reply to them:
Hello Manfred!
We look forward to your session with EWE BAND.
The price will be US$ 141,000 per day, plus the cost of blank CD's.
So the total will be US$ 987,006, (I have estimated $6 for 12 CD's @ .50/each. If you think you will need any DVD-R's PLEASE let us know immediately, and we will add them to your invoice @ our cost of only .75 each. If you do not need this many CD's, please let me know, and we can reduce your invoice immediately!)
W also will need to get a list of each person that will come, so we can prepare Immigrations paperwork.
And please hurry, because August will be here before a jackalope knows it!
Looking forward to a beneficial relationship with new friends!!!
Best regards,
Tommy Bahama
Booking Relations Agent
Compass Point Studios
|
|
|
| Re: Afircan Bands wanting to record in US- all scams? [message #332650 is a reply to message #332568 ] |
Fri, 11 April 2008 11:11   |
Leonardo Valvassori Messages: 379 Registered: March 2005 Location: Toronto |
Active Member |
|
|
| compasspnt wrote on Fri, 11 April 2008 07:41 |
Tommy Bahama
Booking Relations Agent
Compass Point Studios
|
Tommy Bahama...
bahaha.
|
|
|